Futile Fixation

Cindy Baker:

Conscious Cacophony

Originally posted on consciouscacophony:

womancheckingemail

I obsessively check my email and Facebook, day after damn day.

You have me enchanted, spellbound, by a force too powerful to break.

Though you promise me things you never deliver, except in my dreams.

You string me along, play me for a fool; from this stupor I will wake.

Soon….but for now, I still lack the inner fortitude to walk away.

********************************************************************************************************************

Written for Lillie McFerrin’s Five Sentence Fiction. The prompt this week is ‘strength.’

Lillie McFerrin Writes

For an added challenge, I also decided to try my hand at writing American Sentences. Simply put, this is a form of poetry, similar to the haiku, invented by Allen Ginsberg. Each sentence contains 17 syllables.

Image Source

********************************************************************************************************************

© C.C. 2014. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and…

View original 17 more words

2 comments

Comments Welcome

